Minors stage comeback to continue winning ways

Post date: Mar 28, 2015 11:47:06 AM

Limerick 1-21 (1-8) Waterford 4-8 (2-7)

All-Ireland Minor Camogie Championship

Saturday 21st March at 2.30 pm in WIT

Limerick’s minor team posted an impressive 1-21 as they came from behind to maintain their winning start to the defence of their All-Ireland minor title against Waterford in W.I.T. on Saturday.

The Treaty girls bounced back from their Munster championship defeat to Tipperary to get the win in a very competitive game.

Waterford opened the scoring and were a threat throughout leading by 0-4 to 0-2 after 10 minutes. The further extended their lead with two well-taken goals but Caoimhe Lyons got a goal back for Limerick before half-time to leave the score at the break Limerick 1-8 Waterford 2-7.

Limerick stateted to close the gap after the break but a goal for Waterford restored their lead to three points on the 40-minute mark.

However a scoring spree from Limerick’s prolific forwards saw them post a massive eleven points in the final third of the match to run out winners by four points despite Waterford adding a fourth goal. This left the score at the final whistle Limerick 1-21 Waterford 4-8.

Limerick travel to face Offaly next week knowing a win will secure a semi-final slot and close their campaign at home to Galway the following week.

Limerick Scorers:

Caoimhe Lyons 1-5​, Aisling Scanlon 0-7, Rebecca Noonan 0-7, Sophie O'Callaghan 0-1, Ellana Mulcahy 0-1​

Limerick Team:

Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh), Saoirse Barry (Murroe Boher), Sinéad McNamara (Na Piarsaigh), Sinéad Madden (Mungret St Pauls), Marion Quaid (Bruff), Tara Fitzgibbon (Ballyagran), Aisling Regan (Murroe Boher), Megan O'Mara (Monaleen), Grainne Regan (Murroe Boher), Rebecca Noonan (Granagh Ballingarry), Leanne Browne (Capt) (Newcastle West), Chloe O'Brien (Ballyagran), Sophie O'Callaghan (Adare), Aisling Scanlon (Killeedy), Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen)


Aoife Barry (Murroe Boher), Ellana Mulcahy (Killeedy), Siobhán Tangney (Croagh Kilfinny), Caoimhe O'Brien (Bruff), Aoife Coughlan (Crecora), Sarah Shanahan (Killeedy), Aisling Scully (Granagh Ballingarry), Dearbhla Egan (Crecora), Gráinne Ryan (Galbally), Leah Riordan (Ballyagran)

Disappointing day for Limerick U16s

Two early goals conceded proved costly for Limerick in their Munster U16 A Shield Semi-Final clash with Tipperary in Charleville on Sunday. The premier girls opened a seven point lead inside the first quarter that despite a strong comeback proved impossible to overturn as Tipperary won through to the final by 3-8 to 0-13.

Playing against the breeze Limerick posted five points without reply to close the gap to two points at half-time. After the break Limerick closed the gap to single point until a third Tipperary goal reopened a lead.

Limerick closed the gap again but two late points from Tipperary restored their four point lead as they ran out winners by 3-8 to 0-13.

In the second game Limerick’s B team came up against a Cork B side who wouldn’t have been out of place in the A grade. They were too strong for the Limerick all over the park and though the final scoreline didn’t reflect the battling display from the Limerick girls the result was a foregone conclusion from early in the game.

The girls involved in both squads have great heart and will dust themselves off and prepare for the All-Ireland series which starts for both teams in July.

Limerick 0-13 (0-7) Tipperary 3-8 (2-3)

Munster U16 A Shield Semi-Final

Sunday 22nd March at 1pm in Charleville

Limerick Scorers: Liz Carmody 0-7 (7F), Leahy Kelly 0-3, Aoife Curtin, Laura Stack, Clodagh Kelly 0-1 each.

Limerick U16A Team:

Leah O'Carroll (Patrickswell), Orla Ryan (Crecora), Connie Sheehan (Templeglantine), Alice O'Connor (Newcastle West), Isabella Condon (Newcastle West), Liz Carmody (Newcastle West), Ciara Barry (Patrickswell), Ciara O'Brien (Patrickswell), Laura Stack (Milford), Orla Davoren (Crecora), Sophie O'Callaghan (Adare), Áine Reynolds (Ahane), Aoife Curtin (Templeglantine), Anna-Rose Kennedy (Galbally), Leah Kelly (Newcastle West)


Stacey Flynn (Templeglantine), Jane Kirby (Patrickswell), Caoimhe O'Brien (Bruff), Molly Hammersley (Cappamore), Clodagh Kelly (Newcastle West), Rachael Considine (Na Piarsaigh), Elizabeth Moloney (Charleville), Aisling Coughlan (Crecora)

Limerick 0-1 (0-1) Cork 7-21 (4-9)

Munster U16 B Championship Final

Sunday 22nd March at 2.15pm in Charleville

Limerick Scorers: Cathy O’Toole 0-1 (1F)

Limerick U16B Team:

Aislinn Condon (Crecora), Zara White (Ballyagran), Áine Tangney (Croagh KIlfinny), Eva Bromell (Treaty Gaels), Lucy Breen (Crecora), Keeva O'Brien (Galbally), Jennifer Moloney (Charleville), Aisling Cunningham (Killeedy), Katie Heelan (Murroe Boher), Cathy O'Toole (Treaty Gaels), Sarah Laffan (Murroe Boher), Siobhán Meaney (Bruff), Aoife McMahon (Ballyagran), Jennifer Holmes (Treaty Gaels), Leanne Herlihy (Granagh Ballingarry)


Áine Higgins (Treaty Gaels), Grace O'Connell (Ballyagran), Caoimhe Dore (Charleville), Megan Griffin (Ballybrown), Shauna Kenneally (Ballyagran), Shannon Roche (Crecora)