Minors push Cork all the way

Post date: Mar 7, 2016 11:50:02 AM

Limerick 0-9 (0-3) Cork 2-5 (1-3)

Minor A Camogie Championship

Sunday 28th February 2016 at 3.30pm

Limerick Institute of Technology

Limerick pushed Cork all the way in their second round Minor Championship match in L.I.T. on Saturday. Ultimately Cork's goals proved decisive as they ran out narrow winners by 2-5 to 0-9. Chloe Sigerson opened the scoring for Cork inside the first five minutes and they lead throughout most of the first half with Limerick's Liz Carmody and Cork's Keeva McCarthy exchanging frees until Ahane's Róisín O'Mara levelled just before half-time. However it was Cork who were to go into the dressing room happier as a late goal for Cork gave them a 1-3 to 0-3 lead at the break.

Limerick opened the scoring in the second half with another free from Liz Carmody and closed the gap on Cork in the first quarter. Caoimhe Lyons and Laura Stack adding points from play to bring the Shannonsiders to with a point of Cork. However on 20 minutes Keeva McCarthy added a second goal for herself and Cork to reopen a four point lead. Substitute Dearbhla Egan added a couple of points following her introduction, however the final word went Cork's Rachel Harty to seal the win for Cork by 2-5 to 0-9.

Though the result was disappointing Limerick will be happy with their performance and will build on this and their win last week over Wexford as they prepare for an away trip to face Galway in two weeks time.

Limerick scorers: Liz Carmody 0-4 (4 frees), Dearbhla Egan 0-2, Róisín O'Mara 0-1, Caoimhe Lyons 0-1, Laura Stack 0-1

Cork scorers: Keeva McCarthy 2-3 (3 frees), Rachel Harty 0-1, Chloe Sigerson 0-1

Limerick Team:

Aoife Barry (Murroe Boher), Saoirse Barry (Murroe Boher), Caoimhe O'Brien (Bruff), Connie Sheehan (Templeglantine), Siobhán Tangney (Croagh Kilfinny), Marian Quaid (Bruff), Ellanna Mulcahy (Killeedy – capt.), Áine Reynolds (Ahane), Gráinne Regan (Galbally), Liz Carmody (Newcastle West), Laura Stack (Milford), Leah Riordan (Ballyagran), Róisín O'Mara (Ahane), Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen), Rachel Considine (Na Piarsaigh), Subs:

Emma Herbert (Newcastle West), Áine Tangney (Croagh Kilfinny), Emily Rose Mulcahy (Killeedy), Caileigh O'Reilly (Ballybrown), Chloe O'Brien (Ballyagran), Emma Barry (Patrickswell), Tanya McNamara (Ballyagran), Dearbhla Egan (Crecora), Sophie O'Callaghan (Adare), Alice O'Connor (Newcastle West), Orla Ryan (Crecora), Stacey Flynn (Templeglantine), Aoife Coughlan (Crecora), Grainne Ryan (Galbally)

Manager - Michelle Casey Selector/Coach - Elaine Foley and Colm O'Brien. Strength and conditioning coach - Damien Quaid