Minors lose out to determined Galway side

Post date: Apr 17, 2015 10:12:44 PM

Limerick 3-9 (0-7) Galway 3-18 (1-9)

All-Ireland Minor A Championship

Saturday 4th April at 2.30pm

Killeedy GAA, Raheenagh

Limerick, who had already qualified for the All-Ireland semi-finals came up against a Galway side with something to prove on Saturday in Killeedy. The Tribeswomen who needed to win to be sure of their own qualification were deserving winners by 3-18 to 3-9 in an exciting high-scoring encounter.

Galway laid down a marker from the off and opened a four point lead after Catherine Finnerty found the Limerick net after 7 minutes. Limerick kept in touch

through Rebecca Noonan’s accuracy from placed ball but Leanne Freaney was equally accurate for Galway as they built a lead they were never to relinquish. A brace of points from Caoime Lyons before the break closed the gap to three but Galway responded to go in five points clear at half time. Limerick 0-7 Galway 1-9.

Galway opened the second half as they had the first extending their lead to nine inside six minutes. A goal from Sophie O’Callaghan gave Limerick hope and was the beginning of a Limerick fight-back. And when Aisling Scanlon hit the back of the net on the quarter hour mark to reduce the deficit to four points it looked as if a Limerick revival was definitely on the cards

But Galway responded within three minutes with a goal from Patricia Manning to restore their lead to eight and leave the brave Limerick side with a mountain to climb. Galway extended their lead through scores from Clíona Walsh including a third goal to give them a twelve point lead as the clock ran out.

Caoimhe Lyons added a goal for Limerick in added time but it was too late and despite a brave battling performance Limerick were beaten by 3-19 to 3-9.

Limerick will learn much from this encounter and will re-group for their semi-final against Kilkenny on 18th April with Galway meeting Tipperary in the other semi-final.

Limerick scorers:

Rebecca Noonan 0-7 (5F), Caoimhe Lyons 1-2, Sophie O’Callaghan 1-0, Aisling Scanlon 1-0

Limerick Team:

Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh), Leanne Browne (Newcastle West), Sinéad McNamara (Na Piarsaigh), Sinéad Madden (Mungret St.Pauls), Marion Quaid (Bruff), Tara Fitzgibbon (Ballyagran), Aisling Regan (Murroe Boher), Chloe O'Brien (Ballyagran), Gráinne Regan (Murroe Boher), Rebecca Noonan (Granagh Ballingarry), Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen), Dearbhla Egan (Crecora), Sophie O'Callaghan (Adare), Aisling Scanlon (Killeedy), Leah Riordan (Ballyagran)


Aoife Barry (Murroe Boher), Saoirse Barry (Murroe Boher), Aoife Coughlan (Crecora), Caoimhe O'Brien (Bruff), Brenda O’Keefe (Granagh Ballingarry), Ellana Mulcahy (Killeedy), Gráinne Ryan (Galbally), Aisling Scully (Granagh Ballingarry), Sarah Shanahan (Killeedy), Siobhán Tangney (Croagh Kilfinny)