Match Reports 19/7

Post date: Sep 19, 2016 4:21:30 PM

Limerick 1-9 (1-5) Cork 3-17 (0-11)

Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship

Saturday 16th July

2.30pm in Cork Institute of Technology

Limerick's 2016 campaign came to a disappointing end with a 3-17 to 1-9 defeat away to Cork in the final round of the group stages. The result means Cork secure the semi-final slot from Group 1 joining group 2 winners Galway while Wexford and Offaly progress to meet Kilkenny and Tipperary in the quarter-finals.

Limerick went into the game knowing they had a mountain to climb to secure qualification. But a pair of wins over Cork in the league and a narrow loss in the Munster final meant they would have confidence in their ability to get the required result.

Limerick got the dream start in the second minute when Caoimhe Lyons shot was blocked down by the Cork defence only to be gathered by Chloe O'Brien who found the back of the net from a very tight angle. But Cork responded strongly and had levelled the score by the ten minute mark. In truth the Cork forwards were causing Limerick all sorts of problems and it was only some excellent defending that contained the scoreline. The battle between Niamh Richardson and Katrina Mackey was particularly notable.

Cork captain Aishling Thompson popped up with a couple of notable scores to extend their lead. Niamh Mulcahy kept Limerick in touch from placed ball but in a repeat of last week was kept scoreless from play with two Cork defenders shadowing her movements. Karen O'Leary who has been tireless in the Limerick midfield all season also popped up with a deserved score.

Limerick would have been happy with the halftime scoreline and were only two points behind Cork twelve minutes into the second half thanks to scores from Mulcahy and Caoimhe Costelloe when Amy O'Connor struck for Corks' first goal. Cork then moved into top gear as four unanswered points were followed by a second goal from Amy O'Connor and finally with ten minutes to go an Orla Cotter free dropped under the bar to give Cork an unassailable 15 point lead.

Niamh Mulcahy added two points from placed balls and Eimear O'Sullivan pointed for Cork to see them run out deserving winners by 3-17 to 1-9. It was a disappointing end to the season for Limerick but when the dust has settled many positives can be taken from a year that saw them reach the semi-final of the league, lose a Munster final by one score and have a very competitive if ultimately disappointing championship campaign. And this was achieved while missing senior players and continuing to integrate the talent that is coming through the underage structures. Continued belief and hard work at all levels will no doubt bring the success that this talented panel deserve.

Limerick Scorers: Niamh Mulcahy 0-7 (7 frees), Chloe O'Brien 1-0, Caoimhe Costelloe 0-1, Karen O'Leary 0-1

Cork Scorers: Amy O'Connor 2-2, Katrina Mcakey 0-4, Aishling Thompson 0-4, Orla Cotter 1-3 (1-1 frees), Breige Corkery 0-2, Hannah Looney 0-1, Eimear O'Sullivan 0-1

Limerick: Claire Keating (Cappamore); Marguerita McCarthy (Ahane), Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), Judith Mulcahy (Ahane); Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), Fiona Hickey (Granagh/Ballingarry), Niamh Richardson (Murroe Boher), Siobhan Enright (Granagh Ballingarry), Karen O’Leary (Newcastle West), Deborah Murphy (Knockaderry), Sinead McNamara (Na Piarsaigh), Niamh Mulcahy (Ahane), Caoimhe Costelloe (Adare), Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen), Chloe O’Brien (Ballyagran).

Subs: Niamh Ryan (Bruff) for Siobhán Enright, Clíona Lane (Adare) for Chloe O'Brien, Marian Quaid (Bruff) for Marguerita McCarthy, Noreen Barry (Killeedy) for Sinéad McNamara, Mary O'Callaghan (Bruff) for Caoimhe Lyons

Limerick 3-10(3-3) Armagh 4-16(2-7)

Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Premier Junior Camogie Championship

Sunday 17th July

2.30pm in Kilmallock

Limerick’s Premier Junior side came out second best in a high scoring encounter with Armagh in Kilmallock on Sunday. A strong second half performance saw the Orchard County prevail by 4-16 to 3-10. The result all but rules Ger Hickey’s side out of the semi-final qualification stakes with two games to go.

Limerick started well responding to an opening Armagh score with two points from Dearbhla Egan followed by a well taken goal from Lisa Leonard to go four points clear inside the opening ten minutes. But Armagh went on a scoring spree of their own scoring 1-4 to regain the lead. Dearbhla Egan got Limerick’s second goal to level the scores and followed up with a well taken point from play to put Limerick ahead.

Armagh again responded two points followed by their second goal just before the break put them four ahead again. But Dearbhla Egan found the net again just before the half-time whistle to send Limerick in at the break just one point behind.

After the break Limerick were playing into a stiff breeze and though points from Dearbhla Egan, Leah Riordan, Lisa Leonard and substitute Lizzy O’Dwyer kept Limerick in touch, Armagh’s greater attacking options saw them extend their lead through out the half. Starting with a goal immediately after the break and finishing with a fourth goal with two minutes to go Armagh’s win saw them go unbeaten to the top of the table.

Limerick’s young side can take a lot of positives from the game as they posted a strong score of 3-10 and can build on the performance going into their final games against Westmeath and Kerry.

Limerick SCORERS

Dearbhla Egan 2-4 (0-1 free), Lisa Leonard 1-1, Leah Riordan 0-4 (0-4 frees), Lizzy O'Dwyer 0-1


Ciara Donnelly 0-6 (0-2 frees), Rachel Merry 0-5, Leanne Donnelly 1-2, Ciara Hill 1-1, Colette McSorley 1-0, Andrea McAlinden 1-0, Cealla Casey 0-1, Bernie Murray 0-1

Limerick Team:

Laura O’Neill (Na Piarsaigh), Sarah Crotty (Ahane), Caitríona Neville (Croagh Kilfinny), Aoife Coughlan (Crecora), Shannyn Sheehan (Templeglantine), Tara Fitzgibbon (Ballyagran), Gráinne Regan (Murroe Boher), Úna O’Connor (Crecora), Sinéad Madden (Mungret St Pauls), Lisa Leonard (Cappamore), Laura Stack (Milford), Leah Riordan (Ballyagran), Anna Kennedy (Crecora), Dearbhla Egan (Crecora), Róisín O’Mara (Ahane)


Siobhán Tangney (Croagh Kilfinny) for Sarah Crotty

Sarah Finn (Bruff) for Shannyn Sheehan

Lizzy O'Dwyer (Cappamore) for Róisín O'Mara