Limerick win through to Munster Senior Final

Post date: May 15, 2014 12:09:51 PM

Limerick 2-13 Tipperary 2-8

Munster Senior Semi-Final

Saturday 10th May at 7pm in The Ragg

Limerick recorded their first championship win over Senior opposition since 2005 as they overcame Tipperary by 2-13 to 2-8 in the Munster Senior Championship Semi-Final. The game was played in what were very wet and blustery conditions, however both teams played some very attractive camogie despite the conditions.

Both teams started well exchanging points in the first few minutes with Limerick's scores coming from Niamh Mulcahy, Caoimhe Costelloe and Aoife Sheehan. The teams were level on 3 points a piece on 12 minutes when Aoife Sheehan got Limerick's first goal. Tipperary replied with a point from play but Mairéad Fitzgerald replied with a second goal to give Limerick a five point lead. Tipperary got two points before the break to leave the score Limerick 2-3 Tipperary 0-6.

Tipperary opened the scoring after the break but four Limerick points widened the gap to leave the score Limerick 2-7 Tipp 0-8 as the half approached the quarter hour mark when Amy Kennedy goaled for Tipperary to reduce the gap to two. Limerick again showed great character and didn't panic and five points including three Niamh Mulcahy frees and points from Deirdre Fitzpatrick and Sinéad McNamara put daylight between the teams.

As the game entered the final minutes Tipperary went looking for goals and only a fine save by Síle Moynihan denied them. Cait Devane did add a second goal for Tipperary but it was too late and Niamh Mulcahy added another point for Limerick to leave the score at the final whistle Limerick 2-13 Tipperary 2-8. Limerick will go on to meet Cork in the Munster Final on Sunday 24th May.

Limerick Scorers: Niamh Mulcahy 0-8 (5F), Aoife Sheehan 1-2, Mairéad Fitzgerald 1-0, Caoimhe Costelloe, Deirdre Fitzpatrick, Sinéad McNamara 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: 1. Sile Moynihan (Ahane), 2. Fiona Hickey Capt (Granagh Ballingarry), 3. Michelle Casey (Killeedy), 4. Judith Mulcahy (Ahane), 5. Katie Campbell (Na Piarsaigh), 6. Sarah Carey (Granagh Ballingarry), 7. Claire Mulcahy (Ahane), 8. Mary O'Callaghan (Bruff), 9. Deirdre Fitzpatrick (Killeedy), 10. Caoimhe Costelloe (Adare), 11. Niamh Mulcahy (Ahane), 12. Niamh Ryan (Bruff), 18. Meadhbh O'Neill (Galbally), 14. Aoife Sheehan (Granagh Ballingarry), 15. Mairead Fitzgerald (Granagh Ballingarry)

Subs: 16. Mairead Ryan (Galbally), 17. Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), 13. Deborah Murphy (Knockaderry), 19.Marguerita McCarthy (Ahane), 20. Sarah Collins (Ballyagran), 21. Janet Garvey (Tournafulla), 22. Donna Mulcahy (Newcastle West), 23. Sinead MacNamara (Na Piarsaigh), 24. Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), 25. Noreen Barry (Killeedy), 26. Dymphna O'Brien (Killeedy), 27. Katie Hennessy (Ballyagran), 28. Caitrin De Bhal (Feenagh Kilmeedy)