Limerick Senior Team Continue Winning Start to Season

Post date: Mar 19, 2013 6:14:19 PM

Limerick 4-10 Meath 1-8

Irish Daily Star National League Div 2

Saturday 16th March @ 5pm in Gaelic Grounds

The Limerick Senior Camogie Team continued their winning start to the season with an impressive home win against Meath in the Gaelic Grounds.Meath opened the scoring but it was to be the only time in the game that they led as Limerick took charge and built up a solid lead. Goals from Caoimhe Costello and Niamh Mulcahy further emphasised Limerick's first half dominance as they went into the break leading by 2-7 to 0-4.

Meath started brightly in the second half with some well taken points and a goal from Katie Hackett. But any threat of a resurgence was snuffed out when Limerick replied with a brace of goals one each for first half goal scorers Caoimhe Costello and Niamh Mulcahy. This finished the game as a contest and Limerick management used the bench to rest players who were facing a Minor final on Monday.

Another great win for Limerick which sees them sitting top of Division 2 Group 2 of the Irish Daily Star National League.

Their next game is also at home against waterford on Sunday 31st March.

Limerick Camogie County Board, Players and Management wish to thank the GAA for the opportunity of playing in the Gaelic Grounds. We all look forward to a successful sporting year ahead.



Niamh Mulcahy 2-3 (2f), Caoimhe Costello 2-1, Mary O'Callaghan 0-2, Sarah Carey, Judith Mulcahy, Marie Keating, Noreen Barry 0-1 each


Katie Hackett 1-1, Sinead Hackett 0-3, Jane Dolan 0-1 (1f), Aoife Maguire 0-1, Edel Guy 0-2

Limerick Team

1. Sile Moynihan (Ahane), 2. Aideen McNamara (Na Piarsaigh), 3. Emma Quaid (Croagh Kilfinny), 4. Janet Garvey (Tournafulla), 5. Sarah Carey (Granagh/Ballingarry), 6. Michelle Casey - Capt. (Killeedy), 7. Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), 8. Deirdre Fitzpatrick (Killeedy), 9. Judith Mulcahy (Ahane), 10. Niamh Mulcahy (Ahane), 11. Marie Keating (Killeedy), 12. Sinead McAuliffe (Ballyagran), 13. Noreen Barry (Killeedy), 14. Mary O’Callaghan (Bruff), 15. Caoimhe Costello (Adare)

Subs: 16. Claire Keating (Cappamore) for Sile Moynihan 17. Dympna O’Brien (Killeedy) for Caoimhe Costello, 18. Elaine Kennedy (Newcastle West) for Sinead McAuliffe, 22. Lisa O Keeffe (Adare) for Noreen Barry, 24. Mairead Ryan (Galbally) for Rebecca Delee

Subs unused: 19. Sarah Crotty (Ahane), 20. Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), 21. Mairead Fitzgerald (Granagh/Ballingarry), 23. Brid Hannan (Croagh Kilfinny), 25. Katie Campbell (Na Piarsaigh) , 26. Meadhbh O’Neill (Galbally), 27. Lorraine McCarthy (Bruff), 28. Aishling McCartan (Newcastle West), 29. Patricia Liston (Newcastle West), 30. Caitrin DeBhal (Feenagh/Kilmeedy)