Limerick secure Munster Final place with win over Tipperary

Post date: May 9, 2017 8:17:13 AM

Limerick 1-14 (1-5) Tipperary 0-14 (0-7)

Munster Senior Camogie Championship Semi-Final

Sunday 7th May in The Ragg Camogie Grounds at 2.30pm

Limerick recorded an impressive 1-14 to 0-14 win over Tipperary in the Munster Senior Camogie semi-final played at the Camogie Grounds in the Ragg on Sunday. In an exciting high quality game it was ultimately Dearbhla Egan's first half goal that was to be the difference between the sides. The win sets up a return clash with Cork who were decisive winners of the other semi-final beating Clare by 0-22 to 0-7.

The game was played in bright sunny conditions and it was Tipperary who had the best of the opening exchanges and had opened a four point lead inside six minutes, from Jenny Grace and three including two frees from Nicole Walsh, as Limerick seemed to take time to settle. But Limerick's dynamic full-forward line were causing problems and a low ball into Caoimhe Lyons saw her pass to Rebecca Delee in the centre who in turn found Dearbhla Egan in the left corner and the Crecora star hand-passed to the back of the net for Limerick's opening score on 11 minutes.

Niamh Mulcahy levelled soon after from a 45 won after her initial effort from long range came off the posts and nearly found the net only to be scrambled away by the Tipp defence. Tipperary restored their lead through an Orla O'Dwyer point but Rebecca Delee responded from wide on the right to level again. O'Dwyer again nudged Tipp ahead and this time it was Caoimhe Costelloe who levelled from a penalty conceded after Rebecca Delee was fouled in the box.

As half time approached Niamh Mulcahy put Limerick ahead for the first time in the game from a free. Nicole Walsh responded in kind for Tipperary only for Caoimhe Costelloe to restore Limerick's narrow lead at the break with a fine long range effort. Clíona Lane came in at the break for Mairéad Ryan who had picked up an injury in the final moments of the first half.

Limerick started the second half brightly and extended their lead to five in the first five minutes with points from Caoimhe Costelloe and Caoimhe Lyons and two frees from Niamh Mulcahy. Tipperary closed the gap as the half wore on but with Niamh Mulcahy keeping the scoreboard ticking over from placed balls and substitute Clíona Lane adding one from play the gap remained at four points with five minutes of normal play remaining.

Laura O'Neill pulled off a sharp save from Orla O'Dwyer as Tipperary went looking for a goal. The Limerick backs were under tremendous pressure as they game came to a close but as they had throughout the game they withstood the assault with every one of the six clearing ball at crucial points in the game. Tipperary got a late point to close the gap to three but in a strong battling performance Limerick held out for a deserved 1-14 to 0-14 win.

The final will be a rematch of last year's Munster decider and the sixth meeting between the sides in John Tuohy's two seasons in charge. With the tally of those games standing at three wins for Cork and two for Limerick, this team will be looking to redress that balance and secure Limerick's first ever Munster title.

Limerick Scorers:

Niamh Mulcahy 0-8 (8f), Dearbhla Egan 1-0, Caoimhe Costelloe 0-3, Rebecca Delee 0-1, Caoimhe Lyons 0-1, Clíona Lane 0-1

Tipperary Scorers:

Nicole Walsh 0-7 (6f), Orla O'Dwyer 0-2, Ereena Fryday 0-1, Cáit Devane 0-1, Jenny Grace 0-1, Róisín Howard 0-1, Grace O'Brien 0-1

Limerick Team:

Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh), Sinéad McNamara (Na Piarsaigh), Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), Fiona Hickey (Granagh Ballingarry), Mairéad Ryan (Clooney Quin), Sarah Carey (Granagh Ballingarry), Judith Mulcahy (Granagh Ballingarry), Karen O'Leary (Newcastle West), Caoimhe Costelloe (Adare), Deborah Murphy (Knockaderry), Niamh Mulcahy - captain (Ahane), Orla Curtin (Ahane), Dearbhla Egan (Crecora), Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen)


Clíona Lane (Adare) for Mairéad Ryan – HT, Aisling Scanlon (Killeedy) for Orla Curtin – 45mins, Lisa Leonard (Cappamore) for Dearbhla Egan – 60 mins, Mairéad Fitzgerald (Granagh Ballingarry) for Caoimhe Lyons – 63 mins