Limerick Minors win Munster A Shield

Post date: Mar 19, 2013 6:24:43 PM

Limerick 1-14 Clare 3-5

Munster Minor A Shield

Congratulations to the Limerick Minor team on winning the Munster A Shield Final v Clare by 1-14 to 3-05 in Newcastle West on Monday.

Limericks Minor camogie team were crowned Munster Champions after defeating Clare in the Munster A Shield Final last Monday. Played in beautiful sunshine, in Newcastle West, the game was a thrilling encounter exhibited by two closely matched teams.

Clare got the dream start immediately after the throw-in, with a hand passed goal. However Limerick were soon sitting deep in the Clare defence where fouls on our forwards allowed sharp-shooter Caoimhe Costelloe slot over two placed balls. Shortly after, full forward Claire Keating put Limerick ahead by raising the green flag. The first half continued with Limerick and Clare trading point after point leaving the half time score at a draw; Limerick 1-06 Clare 2-03.

In the second half, Katie Hennessey and Shauna Tobin had made way for substitutes Orla Cunningham and Sinead McNamara. Clare started the strongest once more in this half, quickly getting two points. Caoimhe again pointed from a free. At this stage Clare seemed to be playing the better hurling as they constantly bombarded our defence. Their patience was soon rewarded whereby a sure point hit the post and rebounded back into the Limerick square whereby it was pulled on to rattle the Limerick net.

This was the turning point of the match for Limerick, as instead of dropping their heads, the goal caused them to raise their game. It was their turn to bombard the Clare defence and subs Orla and Sinead made their mark, fielding some great balls in towards the square. Indeed Limerick played their best hurling in the final ten minutes with five different players putting their names on the score sheet; Caoimhe Costelloe, Claire Keating, Aoife Wilson, Orla Cunningham and Karen O’Leary. To the delight of the crowd, Limerick turned a four point deficit into a three point surplus and when referee, Mike Sheehan of Cork blew the final whistle there was scenes of jubilation. Limerick 1-14 Clare 3-05.

Captain Rebecca Delee proudly accepted the trophy on behalf of the team. Karen O’Leary was awarded Player of the Match. Both girls are from Newcastle West Camogie Club and had a memorable day on their home grounds.

Limerick Minors next play Cork in Round 2 of the All Ireland Championship this Sunday afternoon, March 24th in Mahon Camogie Grounds, Cork, at 2pm.

Limerick Team: 1. Orla Condon. Knockaderry, 2, Mirren O Grady .Kilmallock, 3. Shauna Tobin. Newcastlewest, 4. Shannyn Sheehan. Templelantine, 5. Jane Wilson. Na Piarsaigh, 6. Rebecca Delee Newcastlewest (Captain), 7.Karen O Leary Newcastlewest., 8. Donna Mulcahy Kileedy, 9. Maeve O Neill Galbally., 10.Deborah Murphy. Knockaderry., 11. Muireann Creamer Cappamore., 12. Aoife Wilson. Na Piarsaigh, 13. Katie Hennessy Ballyagran, 14. Claire Keating Capamore., 15.Caoimhe Costello Adare.

Subs: 16. Aoife Barry. Murroe / Boher, 17. Orla Cunningham Kileedy., 18. Denise Forde Kileedy., 19. Mairead Clancy Ballybrown., 20. Brid Murphy. Patrickswell., 21. Lisa Ryan Murroe / Boher, 22. Niamh Doyle Monaleen., 23. Kate Mulqueen. Ballybrown, 24. Sinead McNamara Na Piarsaigh, 25. Aisling Scully Granagh / Ballingarry., 26.Aoife Hogan Monaleen, 27.Martina McMahon Croagh.

Management; Willie Banks Manager, Martin Downes & Seamus Keating (Selectors), Rose McMahon Liasion Officer, Sara Fitzgerald First Aid