Limerick Minors win in Dublin

Post date: Mar 18, 2014 5:15:57 PM

Limerick 0-9 (0-6) Dublin 0-6 (0-3)

All-Ireland Minor A Championship

Saturday 15th March at 12.30pm, Parnells GAA, Coolock

Limerick started off with a mighty start from the throw in with a well-earned point from Centre Forward Rebecca Delee after just 13 seconds on the clock. This was closely followed by a fantastic point from Corner Forward Caoimhe Lyons after 3 minutes. Limerick again gained possession and again pumped it forward in front of Caoimhe Lyons who got possession and turned her player and went straight for goal and put the ball over the bar narrowing skimming the cross bar. Four and a half minutes on the clock saw Caoimhe Lyons get her second point of the game. Five minutes gone on the clock and Limerick leading Dublin 0-4 to no score. The Limerick backs were under fierce pressure but cleared their lines at all times. A well-earned free was awarded to Limerick and captain Caoimhe Costelloe stood up to take it and with the wind behind her back slotted the sliotar between the post. Limerick again gained possession from the Dublin Puck out and into the hands of Caoimhe Lyons who slotted over her third point of the day. Dublin started coming back at Limerick and from a free from number 14 Orla Beagan on the 13th Minute put Dublin on the scoring sheet. 15 minutes into the first half and Limerick were leading 0-4 to Dublin 0-1. Dublin again came of the attack and number 10 Martha O Donoghue finding the posts and getting her only point of the day. The game went without any scores for the next 12 minutes but the battle was still on between both teams on the field. The final score of the first half coming from Caoimhe Costelloe from a free on the 27th minute. Half Time in Coolock Limerick 0-6 Dublin 0-3.

Dublin came out blazing into the second half with 2 unanswered points from full forward Orla Beagan with a point after 1 minute and again with a 45 on the 2nd minute. Dublin were trailing on Limericks heals for the entire match and was just 1 point behind coming up into the 12th minute of the second half. Limerick again lifted their heads with the roaring and beckoning on from the limerick support on the side lines. Caoimhe Costelloe again put the ball over the bar and within seconds Rebecca Delee putting her 2nd point of the day on the sheet bringing the score after 13 minutes to Limerick 0-8 Dublin 0-5. There was a little confusion with the score at this stage with the referee Owen Elliott giving a scoreline of a draw but went to his umpires and rectified the score to limerick leading by 3 points. This got the Limerick supported on their toes and cheering on the girls on the field. Dublin answered with a point form yet again full forward Orla Beagan bring her tally to 5 points (2 from play, 2 from play and 1 from a 45). With the ball going up and down the field for the bones of 12 – 13 minutes Caoimhe Costelloe put the ball over the bar on the 27th minute bringing her tally to 4 points (2 frees and 2 from play). The score at this stage was limerick 0-9 Dublin 0-6. Time was up but Referee Owen Elligott signalled 5 minutes injury time is to be played. With limerick leading by 3 points manager Willie Banks and selector Adrian O Sullivan running up and down the sideline really was getting the girls going for the last 5 minutes. The excitement was electric. 5 minutes were up and Limerick came out victorious on a scoreline of 0-9 to Dublin 0-6. This match could have gone to either of the teams but it was Limerick that showed heart and fitness to finish on top. Limerick now face Cork next Saturday 22nd March in Cork venue TBA.

Scorers: Caoimhe Costelloe 0-4 (2 frees), Caoimhe Lyons 0-3, Rebecca Delee 0-2

1 Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh), 2 Katie Hennessy (Ballyagran), 3 Sinead MacNamara (Na Piarsaigh), 4 Shannyn Sheehan (Templeglantine), 5 Jane Wilson (Na Piarsaigh), 6 Tara Fitzgibbon (Ballyagran), 7 Helena Fitzgerald (Adare), 8 Donna Mulcahy (Killeedy), 9 Karen O'Leary (Newcastle West), 10 Deborah Murphy (Knockaderry), 11 Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), 12 Caoimhe Costelloe (captain) (Adare), 13 Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen), 14 Aoife Wilson (Na Piarsaigh), 15 Leanne Browne (Newcastle West)

Subs used: 18 Kate Mulqueen for Karen O Leary, 17 Sarah Shanahan for, 9 Karen O Leary for Leanne Browne, 19 Niamh Tuite for Aoife Wilson, 23 Ellanah Mulcahy for

Substitutes: 16 Aoife Barry (Murroe Boher), 17 Sarah Shanahan (Killeedy), 18 Kate Mulqueen (Ballybrown), 19 Niamh Tuite (Treaty Gaels), 20 Mairead Clancy (Ballybrown), 21 Neamh Curtin (Ballybrown), 22 Megan O'Meara (Monaleen), 23 Ellanah Mulcahy (Killeedy), 24 Leah O'Riordan (Ballyagran), 25 Marie Danagher (Ballyagran), 26 Aisling Scanlon (Killeedy), 27 Marian Quaid (Bruff), 28 Aine Cunningham (Killeedy), 29 Sinead Madden (Mungret St Pauls), 30 Shauna Tobin (Newcastle West), 31 Lisa Ryan (Murroe Boher), 32 Ciara Carroll (Newcastle West), 33 Lizzie O'Dywer (Cappamore), 34 Roisin O'Meara (Ahane), 35 Orla Condon (Knockaderry)

Mentors: Willie Banks (Manager), Adrian O'Sullivan, Rose McMahon (Trainer/Selector), Liz Hennessy (Liaison), Sara Fitzgerald (Physio), Margaret Delee (First Aid)