Limerick Minors have to go again in All-Ireland bid

Post date: Apr 29, 2014 4:42:57 PM

Limerick 2-11 Cork 3-8

All-Ireland Minor A Championship Semi-Final

Saturday 26th April 3pm in Kilmallock

Limerick and Cork will have to go again after their enthralling Minor A Camogie Final ended in a draw in Kilmallock on Saturday. Limerick led for much of the game but Cork kept in touch and drew level in dying minutes to leave the score at Limerick 2-11 Cork 3-8 and force the replay which will take place in Charleville on Saturday 3rd May at 2.30pm.

Limerick opened the scoring after their dynamic corner forward Caoimhe Lyons got behind her marker to get the first point of the game. Cork and Limerick exchanged scores after that until a ball dropped into the square popped up for the unmarked Limerick captain Caoimhe Costelloe who volleyed to the back of the net. Limerick 1-3 Cork 0-2.

Limerick scored the next three points to one for Cork until Cork’s Kate O’Keefe, who was a constant threat all afternoon, got Cork’s first goal to close the gap at half time to three points.

The sides exchanged scores after the break including an excellent solo score from Caoimhe Costelloe who broke down the right hand side cutting inside to put the ball over the bar. Limerick stretching the lead to four after Caoimhe Lyons got on the end of a Donna Mulcahy clearance to bring her tally to three but Kate O’Keefe again goaled to reduce the margin to a single point.

Limerick immediately got a goal back when Caoimhe Costelloe got on the end of a Rebecca Delee free to flick it past the keeper to restore the gap. But Cork's had the best of the final period with soccer star Amy O'Connor causing all sorts of problems and Rachel O'Shea pointed followed by another goal for Kate O’Keefe that levelled the game. Cork came looking for the winner but the Limerick defence which had been impressive throughout, notably Sinead MacNamara at full-back and Laura O'Neill in goal, were not to be breached.

The result sets up next Saturday’s replay which will be eagerly anticipated following such an exciting display from both sides.


Limerick: Caoimhe Costelloe 2-6 (3Fs, 1 '45), Caoimhe Lyons 0-3, Karen O’Leary 0-1, Aoife Wilson 0-1

Cork: Kate O’Keefe 3-1, Rachel O’Shea 0-4, Amy O’Connor 0-2

Limerick Team:

1 Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh), 2.Katie Hennessy (Ballyagran), 3. Sinead MacNamara (Na Piarsaigh), 4. Shannyn Sheehan (Templeglantine), 5. Jane Wilson (Na Piarsaigh), 6. Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), 7. Tara Fitzgibbon (Ballyagran), 8. Donna Mulcahy (Killeedy), 9. Karen O'Leary (Newcastle West), 10. Deborah Murphy (Knockaderry), 11. Caoimhe Costelloe - Captain (Adare), 12. Aoife Wilson (Adare), 13. Kate Mulqueen (Ballybrown), 14. Leanne Browne (Newcastle West), 15. Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen)

Subs: 17. Sara Shanahan (Killeedy) for Shannyn Sheehan, 20. Aisling Scanlon (Killeedy) for Leanne Browne, 19. Leah O'Riordan (Ballyagran) for Kate Mulqueen, 21. Niamh Tuite (Treaty Gaels) for Tara Fitzgerald

Panel: Orla Condon, Helena Fitzgerald (Adare), Ellanah Mulcahy (Killeedy), Marion Quaid (Bruff), Marie Danagher (Ballyagran), Mairead Clancy (Ballybrown), Lisa Ryan (Murroe Boher), Shauna Tobin (Newcastle West), Aoife Barry (Murroe Boher), Megan O'Meara (Monaleen), Aine Cunningham (Killeedy), Kiara Carroll (Newcastle West), Roisin O'Meara (Ahane), Neamh Curtin (Ballybrown), Sinead Madden (Mungret), Lizzie O'Dwyer (Cappamore)

Mentors: Willie Banks (Manager), Adrian O'Sullivan, Rose McMahon (Trainer/Selector), Liz Hennessy (Liaison), Sara Fitzgerald (Physio), Margaret Delee (First Aid)