Limerick Minors Finish Season On Winning Note

Post date: May 7, 2015 11:52:24 AM

Limerick 2-8 (1-4) Clare 2-8 (1-3)

(2-12 to 2-11 AET)

Munster Minor A Shield

Saturday 2nd May in Shannon

Limerick's Minor team ended their 2015 campaign on a winning note with a hard fought victory over Clare in the Munster Shield in Shannon on Saturday evening. On a very wet night it took extra time to separate the teams in what was an enthralling contest between two excellent sides.

Clare opened the scoring and lead in opening period even though Limerick were creating goal chances but Clare’s keeper pulled off some fine saves to keep Limerick at bay. However the pressure finally paid off when Caoimhe Lyons found the back of the net with a long range shot. Clare rallied as half time approached and found the net through substitute Aoibheann Duggan to level the sides. But Róisín O’Mara added a point before the break to give Limerick the narrowest of half-time leads.

The second half was nip and tuck throughout with neither side able to open a gap and Rebecca Noonan and Clare’s Regan Conway keeping the scores ticking over from placed balls. Limerick looked to have made the decisive breakthrough with 5 minutes to play when Caoimhe Lyons added a second goal to open a four-point gap. However Clare responded well and Ann-Marie Hayes pounced on sideline cut that dropped into the square for Clare’s second goal. Clare then levelled in the dying minutes to force the game to extra time.

Extra time continued much as the match had with little between the sides. Clare appeared to have the momentum and opened an early lead but three points from Rebecca Noonan and one from Megan O’Meara were enough to see Limerick home by the narrowest of margins.

This was a win that showed great character from Limerick in very inclement conditions and is a deserved reward for their performances throughout the season.

Limerick Scorers: Rebecca Noonan 0-8 (6F), Caoimhe Lyons 2-0, Sinéad McNamara 0-2, Róisín O’Mara 0-1, Megan O’Meara 0-1

Limerick Team:

Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh), Leanne Browne (C) (Newcastle West), Caoimhe O'Brien (Bruff), Sinead Madden (Mungret St Paul's), Aisling Regan (Murroe Boher), Tara Fitzgibbon (Ballyagran), Chloe O'Brien (Ballyagran), Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen), Sinead McNamara (Na Piarsaigh), Grainne Regan (Murroe/Boher), Megan O'Meara (Monaleen), Rebecca Noonan (Granagh Ballingarry), Sophie O'Callaghan (Adare), Aisling Scanlon (Killeedy), Aoife Barry (Murroe Boher), Aisling Scully (Granagh Ballingarry), Saoirse Barry (Murroe Boher), Siobhan Tangney (Croagh Kilfinny), Marion Quaid (Bruff), Leah Riordan (Ballyagran), Aoife Coughlan (Crecora), Brenda O'Keefe (Granagh Ballingarry), Ellana Mulcahy (Killeedy), Grainne Ryan (Galbally), Roisin O'Mara (Ahane), Sarah Shanahan (Killeedy)