Limerick Minors and Juniors lose out

Post date: Apr 22, 2015 5:15:47 PM

Limerick 0-6 (0-4) Kilkenny 3-11 (0-8)

All-Ireland Minor A Championship


Saturday 18th April at 3.45pm

in Birr, Co. Offaly

LImerick’s dream of back-to-back All-Ireland minor titles was ended by an excellent Kilkenny side in Birr on Saturday. The Cats were on top from the start and two goals early in the second half ended the game as a contest with Kilkenny winning by 3-11 to 0-6.

Limerick set up to contain the Kilkenny attack and restricted them to two points from play in the first half but found their own scores hard to come by

Caoimhe Lyons opened the scoring with a first minute point for Limerick and it was nip and tuck for the first 20 minutes. However a late flurry from Kilkenny in the last 10 minutes sent them in four points ahead at half-time.

Limerick reverted to a more traditional set-up after the break however it was the Noresiders who made the better start when Edel Coonan blasted to the Limerick net from close range two minutes into the new half. Ciara Phelan added another goal nine minutes later to open up a nine-point margin and the game was effectively over as a contest.

The Limerick girls never gave up but were chasing the game now as they needed goals but the Kilkenny defence held firm and it was Kilkenny who finished stronger scoring 1-3 without reply to close out a deserved win.

This Limerick side did their county proud and it is continuing evidence of the strides being made that they are continuing to compete at the top level at all age grades.

Limerick Scorers: Caoimhe Lyons 0-3, Rebecca Noonan 0-2 (1f), Megan O’Mara 0-1

Limerick Team:

Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh), Leanne Browne (C) (Newcastle West), Caoimhe O'Brien (Bruff), Sinead Madden (Mungret St Paul's), Aisling Regan (Murroe Boher), Tara Fitzgibbon (Ballyagran) , Chloe O'Brien (Ballyagran) , Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen), Sinead McNamara (Na Piarsaigh) , Grainne Regan (Murroe Boher) , Dearbhla Egan (Crecora) , Megan O'Mara (Monaleen), Rebecca Noonan (Granagh Ballingarry), Sophie O'Callaghan (Adare), Aisling Scanlon (Killeedy)


Aoife Barry (Murroe Boher), Aisling Scully (Granagh Ballingarry), Saoirse Barry (Murroe Boher), Siobhan Tangney (Croagh/Kilfinny), Marion Quaid (Bruff), Leah Riordan (Ballyagran), Aoife Coughlan (Crecora), Brenda O'Keefe (Granagh Ballingarry), Ellana Mulcahy (Killeedy), Grainne Ryan (Galbally), Roisin O'Mara (Ahane), Sarah Shanahan (Killeedy)

Limerick 0-2 (0-2) Dublin 3-9 (3-6)

Irish Daily Star National Camogie League

Division 3 Semi-Final

Sunday 19th April at 2pm

in Edenderry, Co. Offaly

LImerick’s Junior side had a tough day at the office as they were over-powered by a strong Dublin side in Edenderry on Sunday.

First half goals from Elaine Gallery, Siofra Walsh and Joeleene Hoary effectively ended the game as a contest before the break. Limerick got off the mark late in the half with a free from Caitrín De Bhál which was followed by a point from Clíona Lane from the resultant puck-out but it was Dublin who lead at half-time by 3-6 to 0-2.

Limerick did not add to their score in the second half but in a dogged defensive display they restricted Dublin’s potent attack to three points but it is Dublin who progress to a final meeting with Carlow.

With a number of last year’s Division 4 and Junior A winning side having made the transition to the senior ranks this is a team in transition and they will re-group after the league campaign and focus on their Premier Junior Championship opener against Roscommon on 5th July.

Limerick Scorers: Caitrín De Bhál 0-1(f), Clíona Lane 0-1

Limerick Team:

Catherine Fitzgerald (Adare), Katie Hennessey (Ballyagran), Anne Neville (Croagh Kilfinny), Caitríona Neville (Croagh Kilfinny), Sarah Crotty (Ahane), Grace Lee (Newcastle West), Néamh Curtin Ballybrown), Una O'Connor (Crecora), Niamh Tuite (Treaty Gaels), Mairéad Clancy (Ballybrown), Clíona Lane (Adare), Claire Keating (Cappamore), Caitrín De Bhál (Killeedy), Bríd Hannan (c) (Croagh Kilfinny), Mairéad O'Connell (Crecora)


Orla Condon (Knockaderry), Louise Curtin (Ballybrown), Elaine Kennedy (Newcastle West), Avril Lane (Adare), Emily Rose Mulcahy (Killeedy), Sarah Fitzgerald (Croagh Kilfinny)