LImerick Minor Championship Finals 2013

Post date: Dec 2, 2013 2:37:48 PM

Croagh - Sunday 1st December

Limerick Camogie fans were treated to two fantastic games last Sunday on a bright dry day in Croagh. The talent on display from all teams confirms that optimism about the future of Camogie in the county is well-placed.

Minor A

Emmets 2-10 Newcastle West 2-7

Ref Michael Flannery

The A final saw defending champions Newcastle West going for three titles in a row face a very strong Emmets side. The teams were evenly matched in the early exchanges until a goal from Mairi Danaher put Emmets ahead by 1-2 to 0-1. Newcastle West kept chipping away at the lead by the 20min mark had closed the gap to two points (1-4 to 0-5). Next Karen O'Leary played a super pass into the danger area which Sarah Corbett converted to put Newcastle West ahead for the first time. Emmets got a point back after good work by Caoimhe Costello but Newcastle West struck next when Julie Kennedy goaled to put them ahead again. It looked like Newcastle would take the goal lead into the break when Caoimhe Costello played a ball into the square which was not delat with by the defense and went straight into the goal to leave the score at halftime 2-5 to 2-5.

The second half was a lower scoring but equally exciting affair with county stars Rebecca Delee and Karen O'Leary in the forefront for Newcastle and captain Katie Hennessy and Caoimhe Costello impressive throughout for Emmets. Caoimhe Costello scored all of Emmets second half points with three from play and two frees as the challengers built up a three point lead going into the closing stages. But there was to be late drama as again and again Newcastle West went looking for the equalizing goal but some excellent goal line stops kept the score as it was and Emmets came in as Minor Champions by 2-10 to 2-7.

Emmets captain Katie Hennessy accepted the trophy from Camogie Board Vice-Chairman Donie Browne.


1. Aine Bresnihan, 2. Serena White, 3. Katherina White, 4. Helena Fitzgerald, 5. Miren O’Grady, 6. Tara Fitzgibbon, 7. Margaret Roche, 8. Katie Hennessy, 9. Chloe O’Brien, 10. Laura Lyons, 11. Caoimhe Costelloe, 12. Leah Riordan, 13. Mairi Danaher, 14. Sheena Lynch, 15. Megan Fitzgibbon, 16. Catherine Fitzgerald, 17. Niamh McCormack, 18. Kellie O’Connor, 19. Tanya McNamara, 20. Katie O’Sullivan, 21. Mary Costelloe, 22. Jacqueline Meade, 23. Sheila Cagney, 24. Marguerite White, 25. Lisa Finn

Newcastle West:

Emma Herbert , Laoise McCarthy, Yvonne Lee, Ciara Carroll, Leanne Browne, Meadbh Mulcahy cpt, Ailbhe O’Connor, Karen O’Leary, Shauna Tobin, Emily Upton, Rebecca Delee, Laura Walsh, Alice Brislane, Julie Kennedy, Sarah Corbett, Ellen Condon, Katie Noonan, Laura O’Sullivan

Minor B

Killeedy 2-12 St Annes (Kerry) 1-5

Ref Mike Woulfe

The B Final saw Killeedy face a strong and determined St Anne's of Kerry. Killeedy dominated the early possession stakes and that was reflected when Aine Cunningham scored a goal to make it 1-1 to 0-0. St Annes were not to be discounted and levelled with a goal as halftime approached but a well take free from Aisling Scanlon sent Killeedy in at halftime ahead by 1-3 to 1-2.

Killeedy started brightly in the second half and began to use their pace and movement to break holes in a dogged Kerry defense. The impressive Elanna Mulchay was causing problems on the wing but it was a late scoring burst of 1-4 from Sarah Shanahan that put the game without doubt fro Killeedy as they ran in deserving winners by 2-12 to 1-5.

Killeedy captain Emer Cunningham received the trophy from Camogie Board Chairman Sean Condon who played tribute to the quality of Camogie on display.


Emily Rose Mulcahy, Aisling Scanlon, Emer Cunningham, Donna Mulcahy, Briana O Connor, Orla Cunningham, Gemma Barrett, Norma Leahy, Rachel Lacey, Denise Forde, Maria Larkin, Sarah Shanahan, Roisin Cunningham, Ellanna Mulcahy, Aine Cunningham, Leighanne Shanahan, Ciara Mc Carthy, Niamh Cunningham

St Annes:

Louise Hobbert, Treise Moran, Jessica Fitzel, Orla Young, Andrea Hanley, Julianne O'keffee, Jamie Mullins, Kerri O'Shea, Orlaith Casey, Niamh leen, Alana Mansuell, Aoife Fitzgearld, Cora Carroll, Aoife Behan, Niamh Rid, Megan Weir, Ann Marie Leen, Patrice Diggin and Sara Tracey