Limerick mark return to top flight with an impressive win

Post date: Mar 11, 2014 9:27:36 PM

Sunday 9th March at 2pm, Dunganny Co. Meath

Limerick 4-14 (2-8) Derry 2-3 (1-1)

Irish Daily Star National League Division 1

Limerick marked their return to Division 1 Camogie with an emphatic 4-14 to 2-3 win over Derry on Sunday last. The 2012 Intermediate Champions were no match for a Limerick side led by captain Fiona HIckey.

Limerick started off the scoring on the 2nd minute with a fantastic point from full forward Sarah Collins. This was followed by two unanswered points from Caoimhe Costello and Maeve O Neill which made the score after 6 minutes Limerick 0-3 Derry 0-0. Derry opened their account on the 10th minute when after a great save from Sile Moynihan, Shauna Quinn kicked in the rebound to level the scores.

Limerick kept their heads up and responded with two points one from Mairead Fitzgerald and another by Caoimhe Costello. Derry came down the field and were awarded a free which Mairead McNicholl put between the posts. Again Limerick repsonded and wnet on the attack with Niamh Mulcahy dodging Derry's defence to strike the ball to the back of the net. Niamh Mulcahy added a point shortly after to put the score after 20 minutes Limerick 1-6 Derry 1-1.

The full back line of Fiona Hickey, Michelle Casey and Judith Mulcahy played an outstanding game holding off the attacks of Derry. Limerick added a free from Niamh Mulcahy and a point from Caoimhe Costello. Into injury time of the first half Mairead Fitzgerald got on the score sheet again when she took on Derry's goalkeeper Niamh McQuillan and found the back of the net after a great passage of play from midfield to the full forward line. Half time score in Dunganny Limerick 2-8 Derry 1-1.

Although Limerick held a sizeable lead coming into the second half they came out into the field as if they were on level score and they opened the scoring with a free from Niamh Mulcahy who with 100% accuracy put the ball between the posts. Derry responded with a point from half forward Grainne McNicholl. But on just short of 6 minutes Mairead Fitzgerald after great team work and determination landed the ball again in the back of the net.

Limerick could do no wrong from here on with Caoimhe Costello also finding the back of the net 12 minutes into the second half leaving Limerick with an impressive lead of 4-9 to 1-2. LImerick started to introduce their substitutes with Niamh Ryan and Muireann Creamer being introduced. Within minutes of coming on Niamh Ryan got herself on the scoring sheet with a nicely taken point from 30 yards out from goal.

Derry were awarded a free on the 20th minute from Claire Tracey bringing the score to limerick 4-10 Derry 1-3. Limerick kept their heads in the game and came back with 2 unanswered points from Deirdre Fitzpatrick and a free from Niamh Mulcahy. Katie Campbell, Janet Garvey and Dymphna O Brien were also introduced. Derry however put on a brave performace and landed a last attack with a goal from Claire Tracey. But Limerick closed out the game with a point from Muireann Creamer and a free from

Niamh Mulcahy to leave the final score in Dunganny to Limerick 4-14 Derry 2-3.

A great start for the league campaign for Limerick under the management of Joe Quaid, Ger Sheehy, Patsy Hall and Ann Herbert. Greater challenges lie ahead as All-Ireland Senior Champions Galway visit Limerick on Sunday 16th March at 1pm venue TBC.

SCORERS: Niamh Mulcahy 1-5 (3f), Mairead Fitzgerald 2-1, Caoimhe Costello 1-3, Sarah Collins 0-1, Maedhbh O Neill 0-1, Niamh Ryan 0-1, Deirdre Fitzpatrick 0-1, Muireann Creamer 0-1

Subs: Niamh Ryan for Caoimhe Costelloe, Muireann Creamer for Marguerita McCarthy, Katie Campbell for Mairesd Fitzgerald, Janet Garvey for Judith Mulcahy, Dymphna O Brien for Mairead Ryan


1 Síle Moynihan (Ahane), 2 Fiona Hickey - captain (Granagh Ballingarry), 3 Michelle Casey (Killeedy), 4 Judith Mulcahy (Ahane), 5 Mairéad Ryan (Galbally), 6 Sarah Carey (Granagh Ballingarry), 7 Claire Mulcahy (Ahane), 8 Deirdre Fitzpatrick (Killeedy), 9 Mary O’Callaghan (Bruff), 10 Meadhbh O’Neill (Galbally), 11 Niamh Mulcahy (Ahane), 12 Marguerita McCarthy (Ahane), 13 Caoimhe Costello (Adare), 14 Sarah Collins (Ballyagran), 15 Mairéad Fitzgerald (Granagh Ballingarry)

Substitutes: 16 Niamh Ryan (Bruff), 17 Katie Campbell (Na Piarsaigh), 18 Janet Garvey (Tournafulla), 19 Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), 20 Dymphna O’Brien (Killeedy), 21 Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), 22 Deborah Murphy (Knockaderry), 23 Karen O’Leary (Newcastle West), 24 Jane Wilson (Na Piarsaigh), 25 Aoife Wilson (Na Piarsaigh), 26 Katie Hennessy (Ballyagran)