Limerick lose out as Cork crowned Munster Junior champions

Post date: Jun 18, 2014 1:23:53 PM

Limerick 1-7 Cork 2-9

Munster Junior Camogie Final

Friday 13th June, Effin at 8pm

Cork defeated Limerick to complete a clean sweep of Munster Camogie titles adding the Junior to the Senior, Intermediate and Minor titles as they came out on top in an enthralling encounter in Effin by 2-9 to 1-7.

Cork got out to the best possible start as Claire Sexton hit the back of the net in the 1st minute and continued their dominance adding a further three points before Limerick registered their first score when Mairéad Clancy pointed on 13 mins. This had the effect of settling Limerick and they finished the half more strongly closing the gap with three further points to leave the score at half-time Limerick 0-4 Cork 1-4.

Limerick's management made two changes at the break with Kristy Carroll and Tara Fitzgibbon coming in for Sarah Crotty and Emer Hickey. The changes had an immediate impact when Mairéád Clancy goaled following a Caitrín De Bhál pointed '45 to put Limerick ahead by 1-5 to 1-4.

Unfortunately this was to be the only time Limerick were ahead in the game as Cork leveled shortly afterward and slowly restored their lead to three points. Limerick never dropped their and led from the back by captain Noreen Barry they continued to assault the Cork goal. Caitrín De Bhál reduced the gap to two from a free with four minutes to go however as the game headed into injury time Sinéad O'Callaghan put the game beyond doubt with a goal for Cork to leave the score at the final whistle Limerick 1-7 Cork 2-9.

A brave performance from Limerick with many impressive performances notably Muireann Creamer and Marguerita McCarthy in the half-back line. Ger Curtin and team will regroup the girls as they start their All-Ireland Junior A championship campaign on Sunday against Offaly.

LIMERICK SCORERS: Mairéad Clancy 1-1, Caitrín de Bhál 0-3 (2f, 1'45), Marie Danaher 0-1, Rosemarie Rea 0-1, Kristy Carroll 0-1

Limerick Team: 1 Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh), 2 Lisa Scanlon (Killeedy), 3 Noreen Barry - captain (Killeedy), 4 Catherine Neville (Croagh Kilfinny), 5 Marguerite McCarthy (Ahane), 6 Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), 7 Emer Hickey (Granagh Ballingarry), 8 Sarah Crotty (Ahane), 9 Leanne Browne (Newcastle West), 10 Rebecca Noonan (Granagh Ballingarry), 11 Caitrín de Bhál (Feenagh Kilmeedy), 12 Margaret Lynch (Granagh Ballingarry), 13 Mairéad Clancy (Ballybrown), 14 Rosemarie Rea (Ballyagran), 15 Marie Danaher (Ballyagran)

Subs used: Kristy Carroll (Galbally) for Sarah Crotty (half-time), Tara Fitzgibbon (Ballyagran) for Emer Hickey (half-time), Niamh Tuite (Treaty Gaels) for Marie Danaher (38mins)

Subs: 16 Catherine Fitzgerald (Adare), 17 Néamh Curtin (Ballybrown), 18 Sarah Shanahan (Killeedy), 19 Kristy Carroll (Galbally), 20 Shauna Tobin (Newcastle West), 21 Tara Fitzgibbon (Ballyagran), 22 Niamh Tuite (Treaty Gaels), 23 Grace Lee (Newcastle West)

Manager Ger Curtin, Coach/Trainer Patsy Hall

Selectors Teresa Noonan, Joe Quaid, Adrian O'Sullivan.

Liason Officer Mairi McMahon