Limerick impress in win against Tipperary

Post date: Mar 13, 2015 8:40:40 PM

Limerick 1-14 (1-6) Tipperary 1-7 (0-3)

Irish Daily Star National League Division 1

Sunday 8th March at 2.30 pm in University of Limerick

Limerick impressed in a comprehensive 1-14 to 1-7 win over Tipperary in University of Limerick on Sunday. Limerick’s potent attack, lead from midfield by Niamh Mulcahy, were too much for Tipperary and Deborah Murphy at centre-forward was causing the Premier defence all sorts of problems. This was backed up by a strong defensive display that kept Tipperary to two scores from play with captain Sarah Carey and Rebecca Delee particularly impressive.

Limerick started brightly with an excellent passing move in the opening minute involving Deborah Murphy and Niamh Mulcahy opening up the Tipperary defence and leading to a well taken point from Niamh.

Another attack saw a shot stopped but not dealt with by the Tipperary keeper and Niamh Ryan pounced to hit the back of the net. Niamh Mulcahy added a free to give Limerick a 1-2 to 0-0 lead.

Tippeary opened their account through a Cáit Devane ’45 but continued Limerick pressure meant the Tipperary defence conceded frees which were converted with customary accuracy by Niamh Mulcahy. It could have been worse for Tipperary but for an Orla McEniry save from a penalty.

Cáit Devane added a couple of frees for Tipperary as they rallied before the break to leave Limerick ahead by 1-6 to 0-3.

Limerick widened the gap after the break through two more Niamh Mulcahy frees until Sarah Fryday scored Tipperary’s first point from play.

Limerick widened the gap further including points from play from Noreen Barry, Niamh Mulcahy and Caoimhe Costelloe to leave the score 1-13 to 0-6 with 5 minutes to go.

Tipperary substitute Megan Ryan got an excellent goal from play to close the gap but it was too late and Deborah Murphy got the final score of the game to leave the score Limerick 1-14 Tipperary 1-7.

Limerick host Wexford next week with a semi-final place looking a decided possibility.

Limerick Scorers:

Niamh Mulcahy 0-11 (9 frees), Niamh Ryan 1-0, Noreen Barry, Caoimhe Costelloe, Deborah Murphy 0-1 each

Tipperary Scorers:

Cáit Devane 0-6 (6 frees), Megan Ryan 1-0, Sarah Fryday 0-1

Limerick Team:

1. Síle Moynihan (Ahane), 2. Marguerita McCarthy (Ahane), 3. Lorraine McCarthy (Bruff), 4. Judith Mulcahy (Ahane), 5. Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), 6. Sarah Carey - capt. (Granagh Ballingarry), 7. Fiona Hickey (Granagh Ballingarry), 8. Niamh Mulcahy (Ahane), 9. Caoimhe Costelloe (Adare), 17. Donna Mulcahy (Killeedy), 11. Deborah Murphy (Knockaderry), 12. Karen O'Leary (Newcastle West), 25. Aoife Wilson (Na Piarsaigh), 13. Noreen Barry (Killeedy), 15. Niamh Ryan (Bruff)


22. Rebecca Noonan (Granagh Ballingarry) for Donna Mulcahy, 10. Aoife Sheehan (Granagh Ballingarry) for Niamh Ryan, 18. Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen) for Aoife Wilson, 20. Leanne Browne (Newcastle West) for Noreen Barry, 19. Sinéad McNamara (Na Piarsaigh) for Fiona Hickey