Limerick fall short but vow to be back

Post date: Sep 18, 2013 3:26:47 PM

Limerick 0-10 Galway 0-12

Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Intermediate Camogie Final

Croke Park

Limerick's All-Ireland dream came to a disappointing conclusion in Croke Park on Sunday as they were beaten by a strong Galway side in what was perhaps the most exciting of the three finals that took place.

Despite the fact that by their own admission the team did not perform to their own high standards the Limerick team's great character and determination shone through as again and again they came back to the point that had a late strike from substitute Aoife Wilson not been deflected wide they could have snatched the win.

Every single member of this team and management has done the county proud and can hold their heads high because of what they have achieved this year. Winning the Division Two title means they will be playing League at the higher grade next year and with that experience under their belts we have no doubt that they will be back in Croke Park in the Intermediate Final to finish the job.

The County Board would like to thank all the supporters who made the trip to Croke Park. There was a great turn out from right across they Count, unfortunately it was not to be our day. However, the panel of 35 girls along with their management team of Joe Quaid, Ger Sheehy , Anne Herbert & James Moynihan as Liaison Officer, deserve great credit for their achievements. It was not easy to give the commitment that they have given for the past 10 months & certainly they have put many other parts of their lives on hold. They did Limerick proud & deserve to be acknowledged for it. We can all look forward to another great year with this fantastic panel of girls. Luimneach Abú!

Scorers for Limerick: N Mulcahy (0-8, 7fs), C Costello, M O’Callaghan (0-1 each).

LIMERICK: S Moynihan; F Hickey, S Carey, J Mulcahy; M Ryan, M Casey, R Delee; D Fitzpatrick, K Campbell; C Costello, N Mulcahy, D Murphy; M Keating, M O’Callaghan, D O’Brien.

Subs: A Wilson for Keating (ht); K O’Leary for Campbell (44); J Garvey for O’Callaghan (54); J Wilson for Ryan (58).