Limerick book place in All-Ireland Final in Croke Park

Post date: Aug 19, 2014 9:34:51 AM

Limerick 0-9 (0-3) Waterford 0-8 (0-6)

Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Intermediate Camogie Semi-Final

Saturday 16th August 1.45pm in Dr Cullen Park, Carlow

Limerick's Intermediate Camogie team booked their placed in the All-Ireland Final with a tense 0-9 to 0-8 win over Waterford in Carlow on Saturday. Limerick will now play Kilkenny in Croke Park on September 14th.

Waterford playing with a stiff breeze had the best of the opening exchanges and opened the scoring with a point from Cartiona McGlone on the 8 minutes. They added two further points in the next few minutes to open a three point lead. Waterford had set up with an effective defensive structure and their physicality was stifling Limerick's attacking threat.

Limerick finally opened their account on 18 minutes through a Niamh Mulcahy free. This served to settle some of Limerick's nerves as they began to adjust to the Waterford challenge. Waterford added a point from play from Lorraine Bray to restore the three point gap. However Limerick's increased pressure led to two frees both of which were converted by Niamh Mulcahy. Karen Kelly then added a free for Waterford to leave the score at half-time Waterford 0-6 Limerick 0-3. It could have been worse for Limerick given Waterford's dominance and only an excellent save from Sile Moynihan prevented Waterford from adding a goal.

Limerick came out after the break looking to take of advantage of the breeze at their back and close the gap on Waterford. Niamh Mulcahy opened the second half account with another converted free on 4 minutes. This was followed on 10 minutes with Limerick's first point from play, which came from Aoife Sheehan who looked dangerous whenever she got ball. This closed the gap to a single score and was immediately followed by a Niamh Mulcahy point from play to level the game.

Limerick went ahead on the quarter hour mark through another Niamh Mulchay free. At this point manager Joe Quaid introduced some fresh legs with Sinéad McNamara coming in for Deirdre Fitzpatrick with Rebecca Delee moving to midfield and Sinead slotting in at half-back. This was followed shortly after by Dymphna O'Brien coming in for Mairead Fitzgerald.

Points from play from Niamh Mulcahy and Caoimhe Costelloe opened a three point gap for Limerick and they looked set for victory. However Limerick supporters were set for a nervy last 10 minutes as a Lorraine Bray point closed the gap to two. Waterford went looking for a goal and only some last ditch defending prevented the Waterford forwards breaking through. A Karen Kelly free reduced the gap to the minimum and increased the pressure on Limerick. However the final whistle went to the relief of the Limerick team, management and supporters and Limerick secured a September 14th date in Croke Park with Kilkenny who comprehensively beat Kildare by 1-16 to 0-7.

This was not by any stretch the best Limerick performance of the season and both management and team know they have much more to give. But they have achieved their season's objective and got back to Croke Park and will hope to go one step further than last year and bring home the All-Ireland title to Limerick.

Before that there is another All-Ireland final to be contested as Limerick's Junior team play Carlow in the Junior A Final in Moneygall on Sun 24th August. Heady times for Limerick Camogie.

Limerick Scorers: Niamh Mulcahy 0-7 (5F), Caoimhe Costelloe, Aoife Sheehan 0-1 each

Waterford Scorers: Karen Kelly 0-4 (4F), Lorraine Bray 0-2, Catriona McGlone, Patricia Jackman 0-1 each.

Team: 1 Sile Moynihan Ahane, 2 Fiona Hickey Granagh Ballingarry Capt, 3 Michelle Casey Killeedy, 4 Judith Mulcahy Ahane, 21 Karen O'Leary Newcastle West, 6 Sarah Carey Granagh Ballingarry, 7 Claire Mulcahy Ahane, 17 Deirdre Fitzpatrick Killeedy, 9 Mary O'Callaghan Bruff, 8 Rebecca Delee Newcastle West, 11 Niamh Mulcahy Ahane, 10 Deborah Murphy Knockaderry, 12 Caoimhe Costelloe Adare, 14 Aoife Sheehan Granagh Ballingarry, 15 Mairead Fitzgerald Granagh Ballingarry

Subs: 5 Sinead McNamara Na Piarsaigh for Deirdre Fitzpatrick (45mins), 18 Dymphna O'Brien Killeedy for Mairead Fitzpatrick (47mins)

Subs unused: 13 Lorraine McCarthy Bruff, 16 Laura O'Neill Na Piarsaigh, 19 Katie Campbell Na Piarsaigh, 20 Niamh Ryan Bruff, 22 Sarah Collins Ballyagran, 23 Aoife Wilson Na Piarsaigh, 24 Leanne Browne Newcastle West, 25 Donna Mulcahy Killeedy, 26 Noreen Barry Killeedy, 27 Marguerita McCarthy Ahane, 28 Katie Hennessey Ballyagran, 29 Jane Wilson Na Piarsaigh, 30 Tara Fitzgibbon Ballyagran