Limerick and Roscommon share points in Athleague

Post date: Mar 13, 2015 8:31:12 PM

Limerick 2-8 (1-6) Roscommon 1-11 (1-6)

Irish Daily Star National League Division 3

Sunday 8th March at 2.30 pm in Athleague, Co Roscommon

Limerick’s Junior team opened their Division 3 League campaign with a hard fought draw away to Roscommon.

In a tightly fought game Limerick opened the scoring through a Caitrín de Bhál ‘45. Bríd Hannan, Niamh Tuite and Claire Keating joined her on the scoresheet as Limerick kept pace with their hosts who were reliant on the excellent Kelly Hopkins for their scores.

Claire Keating scored an excellent goal as the sides went in at half-time 1-6 a piece. Roscommon had a chance to go in ahead at the break but an excellent save on line from Ann Neville denied them.

Limerick added another goal after the break when Avril Lane showed great skill to power to the back of the Roscommon net to give Limerick a two point lead.

But Roscommon closed the gap and levelled the game in the games dying moments to secure their second darw of the campaign.

Limerick can be pleased with their first outing and improved as the game went on. They now look forward to the visit of Carlow for a re-match of last year’s Junior A championship final.

Limerick Scorers:

Claire Keating 1-2, Avril Lane 1-0, Caitrín De Bhál 0-3, Bríd Hannan 0-2, Niamh Tuite 0-1

Roscommon Scorers:

Kelly Hopkins 1-11

Limerick Team:

1 Catherine Fitzgearld (Adare), 2 Louise Curtin (Ballybrown), 3 Ann Neville (Croagh Kilfinny), 4 Catriona Neville (Croagh Kilfinny), 5 Katie Hennessy (Ballyagran), 6 Grace Lee (Newcastle West), 7 Néamh Curtin (Ballybrown), 8 Una O’Connor (Crecora), 9 Niamh Tuite (Treaty Gaels), 10 Mairéad Clancy (Ballybrown), 11 Clíona Lane (Adare), 12 Catrín De Bhal (Killeedy), 13 Bríd Hannan (Croagh Kilfinny), 14 Elaine Kennedy (Newcastle West), 15 Claire Keating (Cappamore)


19 Avril Lane (Adare) for Elaine Kennedy, 17 Lisa Barrett (Crecora) for Una O’Connor