Limerick win Division 4 League Title

Post date: May 15, 2014 1:42:53 PM

Limerick 5-5 Kerry 1-10

Irish Daily Star League Division 4 Final Replay

Sunday 11th May 2.30pm in Newcastle West

Limerick's Junior team added the Irish Daily Star League Division 4 title to the one won by the minors last week as they overcame a strong Kerry side in the replay by 5-5 to 1-10. Ger Curtin’s team needed a late point last week in Abbeydorney to gain this second chance and were never behind this time around.

On a sunny Sunday on a beautiful pitch in Newcastle West Limerick, playing with the benefit of a strong breeze, got off to the best of all possible starts when Elaine Kennedy finished off a great move down the left by striking the ball into the Kerry net. It was a very well-worked score, with the quick transference of the sliotar bemusing the Kerry defence. The final pass found Kennedy unattended and she made no mistake from close range.

Kerry replied with two frees from the excellent Sarah Murphy interspersed with one for Limerick by Lisa Scanlon. However Limerick struck back through a second Elaine Kennedy goal and one for Sarah Collins after one of her trademark strong runs at goal. Kerry pointed another free and Limerick added two further points to go in at the break with a sizeable nine point lead 3-3 to 0-3.

But Kerry showed great character and with the breeze at their backs scored 1-4 without reply after the break Sarah Murphy getting the goal to add to her tally from the placed ball. Muireann Creamer opened Limerick's second half account but three further points from placed ball for Kerry levelled the score with five minutes to go and it looked as if extra time might be called for to separate the teams.

Caitrín de Bhál steadied Limerick nerves to restore the lead and with Limerick substitutes having an impact Sarah Collins broke through to get her second goal of the day. Caitrín de Bhál put the game beyond doubt with an injury time goal that broke Kerry hearts. Limerick showed tremendous character to come back when under pressure from Kerry and credit should be given to the defence led by captain Noreen Barry who ensured that despite many Kerry attacks in the second half only a single goal was conceded.

Camogie President presented the trophy to captain Noreen Barry, the second time she had done so to a Limerick captain in nine days. Great days for Limerick Camogie.

SCORERS FOR LIMERICK: Elaine Kennedy 2-0, Sarah Collins 2-0, Caitrín de Bhál 1-1, Lisa Scanlon 0-2 (2F), Kristy Carroll, Muireann Creamer 0-1 each.

SCORERS FOR KERRY: Sarah Murphy 1-9 (8F, 1 '45), Laura Collins 0-1.

Limerick Team: 1 Catherine Fitzgerald (Adare), 2 Grace Lee (Newcastle West), 3 Noreen Barry (Killeedy), 18 Catherine Neville (Croagh Kilfinny), 5 Marguerita McCarthy (Ahane), 6 Lisa Scanlon (Killeedy), 4 Eimer Hickey (Granagh Ballingarry), 8 Caitrín De Bhál (Feenagh Kilmeedy), 9 Sarah Crotty (Ahane), 10 Kristy Carroll (Galbally), 11 Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), 12 Mairead Fitzgerald (Granagh Ballingarry), 20 Margaret Lynch (Granagh Ballingarry), 14 Sarah Collins (Ballyagran), 15 Elaine Kennedy (Newcastle West)

Subs: 7 Néamh Curtin (Ballybrown),13 Rebecca Noonan (Granagh Ballingarry), 16 Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh), 17 Orla Condon (Knockaderry), 19 Katie Hennessy (Ballyagran), 21 Mairead Clancy (Ballybrown), 22 Shauna Tobin (Newcastle West), 23 Niamh Tuite (Treaty Gaels), 24 Brid Hannon (Croagh Kilfinny), 25 Donna Mulcahy (Killeedy), 26 Kate Mulqueen (Ballybrown), 27.Sinead MacNamara (Na Piarsaigh), 28 Tara Fitzgibbon (Ballyagran)