Limerick 5-5 Tyrone 2-7 - Div 4 Match Report

Post date: Feb 25, 2014 12:17:55 PM

Sunday 23rd February at 2pm

Limerick 5-5 (2-4) Tyrone 2-7 (1-4)

Irish Daily Star National League Division 4

Tyrone GAA Centre, Garvaghey

Referee Louise Smith

Limerick's Junior Team got their National Camogie League Division 4 campaign off to a great start in wind swept Garvaghey with an impressive 5-5 to 2-7 win over Tyrone.

Tyrone opened brightly and led by 0-3 to 0-0 after 10 minutes with points from Shauna Jordan, Aisling Jordan and a free from Emma McAliskey. Tyrone went further head through a Caoimhe Rafferty goal but this appeared to galvanize Limerick who dominated the remainder of the half.

Two goals in seven minutes from Sarah Collins levelled the score and further points from Emma Quaid, Mairéad Fitzgerald, Marguerite McCarthy and Sarah Collins gave LImerick a good lead going into the break. The impressive Niamh Gavin added a point for Tyrone to leave the score at half time LImerick 2-4 Tyrone 1-4.

With the breeze at their back Limerick started brightly in the second half with Sarah Collins completing her hat trick and Kristy Carroll adding a fourth goal. Tyrone responded with three points from frees from Emma McAliskey. Kristy Carroll added a point for Limerick before Tyrone closed the gap through a goal from Aisling Corr.

The final period saw Tyrone press further looking for goals but Limerick broke to the other end of pitch where substitute Niamh Tuite scored the goal that put an end to Tyrone's challenge.

A great opening result for LImerick from a tough away challenge. Next up will be Kerry at home in two weeks time and on the same day the Intermediate team open their Division 1 campaign against Derry. Final Score: Limerick 5-5 Tyrone 2-7.


LIMERICK: Sarah Collins 3-1, Kristy Carroll 1-1, Niamh Tuite 1-0, Emma O'Grady 0-1, Mairéad Fitzgerald 0-1, Marguerite McCarthy 0-1

TYRONE: Emma McAliskey 0-4 (4F), Caoimhe Rafferty 1-0, Aisling Corr 1-0, Shauna Jordan 0-1, Aishling Jordan 0-1, Niamh Gavin 0-1

LIMERICK: 1- Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh), 2- Emer Hickey (Granagh Ballingarry), 3- Noreen Barry (Killeedy), 4- Sarah Crotty (Ahane), 5- Emma O Grady (Granagh Ballingarry), 6- Emma Quaid (Croagh Kilfinny), 7- Marguerite McCarthy (Ahane), 8- Caitrín De Bhál (Feenagh Kilmeedy), 9- Mairéad Fitzgerald

(Granagh Ballingarry), 10- Therase Mulcaire (Granagh Ballingarry, 11- Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), 12- Kristy Carroll (Galbally), 13- Elaine Kennedy (Newcastle West), 14- Sarah Collins (Ballyagran), 15- Catherine Fitzgerald (Adare)

Subs: 16- Grace Lee (Newcastle West), 17- Jennifer Hartigan (Ballybrown), 18- Aisling Ryan (Kilmallock), 19- Edwina Mullane (Killeedy), 20- Niamh Curtin (Ballybrown), 21- Mairéad Clancy (Ballybrown), 22- Niamh Tuite (Treaty Gaels)