Honours even in Ballinasloe League opener

Post date: Feb 25, 2015 5:20:39 PM

Limerick 0-6 (0-2) Galway 0-6 (0-6)

Irish Daily Star National League Division 1

Sunday 22nd February at 2.30 pm in Duggan Park, Ballinasloe

In their first League outing of the year Limerick's senior camogie team fought back from a four-point first half deficit to grab a valuable draw in Ballinasloe on Sunday.

Limerick played into a stiff breeze in the first half and were on the back foot for the first 20 minutes as Galway went ahead by 0-5 to 0-0.

Limerick got a valuable opener through Karen O'Leary on 22 minutes and the ever accurate Niamh Mulcahy added a second to reduce the gap further. Niamh McGrath added her fourth free of the day just before half-time to leave the score at the break Galway 0-6 Limerick 0-2.

This was to be Galway's last score of the game as an excellent second-half defensive display, lead by Judith Mulcahy, stifled the Galway attack.

Limerick's increased pressure lead to three frees converted by Niamh Mulcahy to reduce Galway's lead to the minimum. Galway had a chance to close out the game but an excellent save by Sile Moynihan denied Niamh Hanniffy.

Instead the final score went to Limerick as Niamh Mulcahy added her fifth point from a free to level the game at 0-6 a piece.

A great result for Limerick away to the 2013 All-Ireland champions, in bad conditions and will give team and management a confidence boost ahead of the visits of Tipperary and Wexford in rounds 2 and 3.

Limerick Scorers: Niamh Mulcahy 0-5 (5 frees), Karen O'Leary 0-1

Limerick Team: 1. Síle Moynihan (Ahane), 2. Marguerita McCarthy (Ahane), 3. Lorraine McCarthy (Bruff), 4. Judith Mulcahy (Ahane), 5. Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), 6. Sarah Carey - captain (Granagh Ballingarry), 7. Fiona Hickey (Granagh Ballingarry), 8. Niamh Mulcahy (Ahane), 9. Caoimhe Costelloe (Adare), 10. Mary O'Callaghan (Bruff), 11. Niamh Ryan (Bruff), 12. Karen O'Leary (Newcastle West), 13. Deborah Murphy (Knockaderry), 14. Noreen Barry (Killeedy), 15. Mairéad Fitzgerald (Granagh Ballingarry), 16. Sarah Crotty (Ahane), 17. Katie Hennessy (Ballyagran), 18. Aoife Sheehan (Granagh Ballingarry), 19. Bríd Hannan (Croagh Kilfinny), 20. Cliona Lane (Adare), 21. Mairéad Clancy (Ballybrown), 22. Kristy Carroll (Galbally), 23. Lisa Kelly (Granagh Ballingarry), 24.Una O'Connor (Crecora)