Clare edge out Limerick to force a three-way playoff

Post date: Apr 9, 2014 11:59:01 AM

Limerick 0-8 Clare 0-10

Irish Daily Star League Division 1

Sunday 6th April 2.30pm in Kilmallock

The last semi-final place remains up for grabs in Irish Daily Star Camogie League Division 1 as Limerick failed to secure the required result to qualify in a tight encounter in Kilmallock saw Clare edge Limerick by 0-10 to 0-8. Limerick now face into a three-way play-off, with a re-match against Clare first up on Wednesday 16th of April and All-Ireland champions Galway on Sunday 20th of April both matches away at venues to be confirmed. The winners of the play-off will face Cork in the Division 1 semi-final on 26th April.

A draw would have been enough for Limerick to join Kilkenny from Group 1 but having been nip and tuck for most of the game Clare opened a two-point gap in the second half which Limerick were unable to bridge.

Niki Kaiser was the visitors leading scorer with five points and she got them off the mark with the opening two points. Clare were three clear by the time Caoimhe Costelloe got Limerick’s first score in the 21st minute. Costelloe accounted for six of Limerick’s points and thanks to her contribution had brought the scores back to level at 0-4 a piece at half time.

The second resumed as the first had gone and though Caoimhe Costelloe edged Limerick ahead, Niki Kaiser got Clare back ahead. Laura McMahon scored from a tight angle to make it 10-8 and though Limerick threw everything forward in search of a goal with Aoife Sheehan having the best goal chance which went narrowly wide as Clare held out to win by 0-10 to 0-8 and force the three way play-off.

Limerick scorers: Caoimhe Costelloe 0-6 (5F), Rebecca Delee 0-1, Mairead Fitzgerald 0-1

Limerick: 1. Sile Moynihan (Ahane), 2. Fiona Hickey (Capt) (Granagh Ballingarry), 3. Michelle Casey (Killeedy) , 4. Judith Mulcahy (Ahane), 5. Mairead Ryan (Galbally), 6. Sarah Carey (Granagh Ballingarry), 7. Claire Mulcahy (Ahane), 8. Deirdre Fitzpatrick (Killeedy), 9. Mary O'Callaghan (Bruff), 10. Caoimhe Costelloe (Adare), 11. Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), 12. Marguerita McCarthy (Ahane), 13. Meadhbh O Neill (Galbally), 14. Sarah Collins (Ballyagran), 15. Mairead Fitzgerald (Granagh Ballingarry)

Subs: 16. Niamh Ryan (Bruff), 17. Deborah Murphy (Knockaderry), 18. Karen O Leary (Newcastle West), 19. Aoife Sheehan (Granagh Ballingarry), 20. Janet Garvey (Tournafulla), 21. Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), 22. Dymphna O'Brien (Killeedy) , 23. Jane Wilson (Na Piarsaigh), 24. Aoife Wilson (Na Piarsaigh), 25. Katie Campbell (Na Piarsaigh)