All-Ireland Junior A Final Preview

Post date: Aug 21, 2014 10:32:29 AM

Limerick v Carlow

Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Junior A Camogie Final

Sunday 24th August at 2.30pm in Moneygall, Co Tipperary

Before the excitement of the Limerick Camogie’s September date in Croke Park for the Intermediate All-Ireland clash with Kilkenny Limerick’s Junior side have an All-Ireland Junior A Final meeting with Carlow on Sunday 24th in Moneygall at 2.30pm.

Ger Curtin’s charges will be looking to achieve a league and championship double having won the Division 4 league title earlier in the year. Limerick have been consistent throughout league and championship losing only once to Kerry early in the league campaign. The squad has a great blend with experienced players such as captain Noreen Barry, vice-captain Caitrín De Bhál and Marguerite McCarthy alongside minor players like Donna Mulcahy, Katie Hennessey and goalkeeper Laura O’Neill. Limerick’s strike force is led by Ballyagran’s Sarah Collins who has scored an impressive 13-7 for Limerick so far this year.

Limerick’s opponents Carlow have been an emerging side over the past few years and won the Junior B championship in 2012 and were Division 4 league champions in 2013. This last win meant they played all their league games this year against Premier Junior opposition and despite losing all their group games the experience of playing league at the higher grade will have stood to them. They beat Kerry and Dublin to top their championship group and showed great character to come back from being 2-4 to 0-2 down against Offaly in the semi-final to run out eventual winners by 5-15 to 3-8. Limerick will be under no illusions as to the challenge that faces them.

U10 teams from Ballybrown and Treaty Gaels will form a guard of honour for the teams coming on to the pitch and take part in the mini-games at half-time.

This will be Limerick’s third final this year and with Croke Park to follow it would be great to see a big Limerick contingent make the short trip up the motorway to Moneygall to get behind this fantastic group of girls.

Limerick Squad: Laura O’Neill Na Piarsaigh, Leanne Browne Newcastle West, Noreen Barry KIlleedy Captain, Catriona Neville Croagh Kilfinny, Marguerita McCarthy Ahane, Lisa Scanlon Killeedy, Sarah Crotty Ahane, Katie Hennessy Ballyagran, Donna Mulcahy Killeedy, Muireann Creamer Cappamore, Caitrin de Bhal Feenagh Kilmeedy Vice Captain, Brid Hannon Croagh Kilfinny, Sarah Collins Ballyagran, Rebecca Noonan Granagh Ballingarry, Catherine Fitzgerald Adare, Tara Fitzgibbon Ballyagran, Neamh Curtin Ballybrown, Margaret Lynch Granagh Ballingarry, Emer Hickey Granagh Ballingarry, Shauna Tobin Newcastle West, Grace Lee Newcastle West, Mairead Clancy Ballybrown, Kristy Carroll Galbally, Sarah Shanahan Killeedy, Emma Quaid Croagh Kilfinny, Shannyn Sheahan Templeglantine, Marie Danagher Ballyagran, Orla Condon Knockaderry, Rosemarie Rea Ballyagran

Manager: Ger Curtin, Trainer: Adrian O’Sullivan, Selectors: Teresa Noonan, Joe Quaid, Patsy Hall, Liaison Officer: Mairi McMahon, First Aid: Emma Noonan, Phyiso: Sara Fitzgerald