2014 Inter-County Camogie Season Gets Underway

Post date: Feb 20, 2014 11:17:44 AM

The inter-county camogie season gets underway this weekend. Limerick's Junior team travel to Tyrone in a Division 4 National League clash on Sunday 23rd at 2pm in Garvaghey while the Minors get things underway at 1pm on Saturday 22nd with the visit of Offaly to LIT.

Following on from their success last year winning Division Two of the Irish Daily Star National League Limerick's Intermediate Camogie Team will be competing in Division 1 of the League this year. In the group stages they will play All-Ireland Senior Champions Galway, runners-up Kilkenny, neighbours Clare and their first fixture will be away to Derry on 9th March.

Limerick's Junior team get their Division 4 League campaign underway away to Tyrone on Sunday. The team managed by Ger Curtin with Teresa Noonan and Intermediate Manager Joe Quaid as selectors follow on with matches against Kerry, Meath, Cavan and Dublin. It is some years since Limerick fielded a team at this level and it is testament to the depth of emerging talent in the county that we enter into this competition with confidence and hopeful of success.

Limerick's Minor team get their Championship challenge underway against Offaly on in LIT on Saturday 22nd at 1pm. This much fancied side features no less than six players (Caoimhe Costello, Rebecca Delee, Deborah Murphy, Karen O'Leary, Aoife Wilson and Jane Wilson) who played in the Intermediate Final in Croke Park in September and are managed for the second year by Willie Banks with Adrian O'Sullivan and Rose McMahon as selectors.

Saturday 22nd February

All-Ireland Minor A Championship

Limerick v Offaly

1pm in Limerick Institute of Technology


Caoimhe Costello, Helena Fitzgerald (Adare), Róisín O'Mara (Ahane), Katie Hennessy, Marie Danagher, Tara Fitzgibbon (Ballyagran), Kate Mulqueen, Niamh Curtin, Mairéad Clancy (Ballybrown), Marian Quaid (Bruff), Lizzie O'Dwyer (Cappamore), Donna Mulcahy, Áine Cunningham, Alannah Mulcahy, Aisling Scanlon, Sarah Shanahan (Killeedy), Deborah Murphy, Orla Condon (Knockaderry), Caoimhe Lyons, Megan O'Meara (Monaleen), Sinead Madden (Mungret), Aoife Barry, Lisa Ryan (Murroe Boher), Jane Wilson, Aoife Wilson, Sinead McNamara, Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh), Rebecca Delee, Karen O'Leary, Leanne Brown, Shauna Tobin, Ciara Carroll (Newcastle West), Shannyn Sheehan (Templeglantine), Niamh Tuite (Treaty Gaels)

Sunday 23rd February

Irish Daily Star National League Division 4

Tyrone v Limerick

2pm in Garvaghey


1- Laura O'Neill (Na Piarsaigh)

2- Emer Hickey (Granagh Ballingarry)

3- Noreen Barry (Killeedy)

4- Sarah Crotty (Ahane)

5- Emma O Grady (Granagh Ballingarry)

6- Emma Quaid (Croagh Kilfinny)

7- Marguerite McCarthy (Ahane)

8- Caitrín De Bhál (Feenagh Kilmeedy)

9- Mairéad Fitzgerald (Granagh Ballingarry)

10- Therase Mulcaire (Granagh Ballingarry

11- Muireann Creamer (Cappamore)

12- Kristy Carroll (Galbally)

13- Elaine Kennedy (Newcastle West)

14- Sarah Collins (Ballyagran)

15- Catherine Fitzgerald (Adare)

16- Grace Lee (Newcastle West)

17- Jennifer Hartigan (Ballybrown)

18- Aisling Ryan (Kilmallock)

19- Edwina Mullane (Killeedy)

20- Niamh Curtin (Ballybrown)

21- Mairéad Clancy (Ballybrown)